We Ride the Lines
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

More announcements

Go down

More announcements Empty More announcements

Post by OTDE Sat Feb 18, 2017 5:21 pm

Aww yeah, time to do more things!

SO. I've been gone for a bit on the visible side of things, but I've been doing some thinking as to how to make the site a little nicer (given what we have on forumotion—this is definitely doing what we can with the restrictions of the software. I'm gonna fire this thing off, question-answer style.

What have you been doing the past couple of weeks?
Mostly planning. I'm trying to be as careful as possible in how I approach administration, given that I'm very very new at it, and so largely my work over the past couple of weeks has been devoted to organization and planning.

Cool. What does that mean?
It means a lot of stuff is going to be done in advance, once we hit march. The goal is to have consistent content creation and reasons for people to be active. This means a lot of things are going to be made a little more explicit in terms of when things will show up, and it also means that everything will be showing up a little more regularly.

So, the pips. What's up with those?
I realized as I was making a lot of the earlier recategorizing changes that I got a little change-happy, and in my rush to make some of these changes, I did have some ideas that generated more questions than I had considered when I came up with them. For example, the pips! I conceived of the new pip system as being a sort of "hall of fame" of pips for each individual user. I realized, however, that a lot of these would make for a much more unwieldy and complex system than it used to be while also fundamentally altering what the pips were meant to be.

What were the pips meant to be?