We Ride the Lines
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Line Rider Confession: The Kid On The Sled

4 posters

Go down

Line Rider Confession: The Kid On The Sled Empty Line Rider Confession: The Kid On The Sled

Post by Conundrumer Sun May 08, 2016 2:32 am

https://iridethelines.forumotion.com/t10856p250-line-rider-confession-thread#185813
Conundrumer wrote:i feel like makign line rider tracks is nto a good use of my time

I'm an artist. I have feelings and ideas I want to convey. I'm at the point where my artistic vision is refined enough to not require strict constraints, i.e. I'm able to stay on course given a powerful tool. Constraints are fun, but they are constraining.

Line Rider is a highly constrained animation tool used for creating a cinematic dance animation. The only elements you have are lines and Bosh, a kid on a sled. The constraint of being forced to use only lines to define the environment and the movements of the character is beautiful. The constraint of having to work with the character of a kid on a sled is frustrating.

Imagine trying to make a beautiful orchestral composition, except you can only use Mario sound effects.

This is how I feel about Line Rider.

Mario sound effects are absolutely whimsical.
Bosh is a kid on a sled. He is also whimsical.

I'm able to hear sounds without the learned symbolic meaning (funny cartoon sounds), so I may be able to create such a composition. But I would have a hard time getting over how difficult it might be for others to get over the whimsical qualities of the sound. If I were to create such a composition, I imagine the immediate reaction would be "this is impressive but also weird and funny". I wouldn't expect people to respond "this is beautiful".